Human Subjects Protection Program (HSPP)

Full Accreditation - Association for the Accreditation of Human Research Protection Programs, Inc.

The Human Subjects Protection Program (HSPP) at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles is responsible for the ethical and regulatory oversight of research conducted with human subjects. The program is accountable for providing education and training to the research community at our hospital.

The HSPP performs regular audits in order to ensure the proper conduct of research. Additionally, the HSPP conducts outreach activities with the Los Angeles community in order to provide information regarding human subject research and the protections afforded individuals participating in research.

 

  • Children's Hospital Los Angeles Institutional Review Board
  • Human Subjects Protection Department Directory
  • Consent Quest - Game App

The Institutional Review Board is made up of doctors, researchers and community members.

Committee Members

Download Official IRB Roster

Alan B. Lewis, MD
Chair, Institutional Review Board
alewis@chla.usc.edu
323-361-2265

Alisa Irwin, BA, CIP
Interim Director, Research Regulatory Affairs
airwin@chla.usc.edu
323-361-1846

Dongqing Li, MB, MBS, CIP
Supervisor, IRB
dli@chla.usc.edu
323-361-6023

Mara Levy, BA, CIP
Supervisor, IRB
mlevy@chla.usc.edu
323-361-7031

Skyler Rothganger, B.A. 
IRB Administrator 
srothganger@chla.usc.edu
323-361-7627

Rocio Yong, MPH, CIP
Sr. IRB Administrator
ryong@chla.usc.edu
323-361-8317

Maryann Girgis, BA, CIP
Sr. IRB Administrator
mgirgis@chla.usc.edu
323-361-4010

Deebra Smith, MPH, CIP
Sr. IRB Administrator
debsmith@chla.usc.edu
323-361-2080

Jeremiah Klashorst, BA
IRB Administrator
jklashorst@chla.usc.edu
323-361-4224 

Linda Mann, BS, CHES 
IRB Administrator
​liman@chla.usc.edu
323-361-8171

Pramod M. Lad, PhD, MBA, MS, CIP
Senior Quality Assurance & Education Specialist
plad@chla.usc.edu
323-361-1847

Nicole Trejo, BA
IRB Coordinator II
ntrejo@chla.usc.edu
323-361-5617

consent quest and logo 400.jpg

Consent Quest is a game app (for iOS) to help children ages 8-12 learn about the consent process for research as they compete to be the first one to the finish line. For up to six (human) players or you can play against the app’s virtual robot player.

Now Available!

Download the app here