Nursing at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles

At Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, nurses are true partners in the care we provide for each child we treat. Children come from all over the world for the expertise available at CHLA in a multitude of subspecialties. As a result, we see patients with a wider variety of health disorders than most community hospitals, and our nurses are better prepared to care for the full spectrum of health needs in children. The hospital has earned Magnet recognition from the American Nurses Credentialing Center since 2008.

Education is a key value of our nursing program. CHLA is one of America’s premier teaching hospitals. Our RN Residency in Pediatrics, a program founded at CHLA to train new nurses in the expert level of care needed to excel in an acute care environment, has become a national model for advanced nurse training.

Join Our Team

If you are an experienced nurse looking for a new challenge, join a hospital where the work you do will matter—to you, to your colleagues, and above all, to our patients and families.

Apply Now

Program Awards and Recognitions

U.S. News & World Report

Children’s Hospital Los Angeles consistently ranks among the top hospitals in the nation on U.S. News & World Report’s Honor Roll of the nation’s best children’s hospitals.

Magnet Recognition Program

We are honored to have achieved Magnet recognition from the American Nurses Credentialing Center for our high-quality patient care and nursing excellence since 2008. Click here for more information about the Magnet Recognition Program.

Beacon Award for Excellence

The American Association of Critical Care Nurses has recognized numerous units at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles with Gold, Silver and Bronze Awards, among the highest achievements in critical care nursing.

LGBTQ Healthcare Equality Leader

CHLA has earned the LGBTQ Healthcare Equality Leader designation, affirming the organization’s commitment to providing the best care for all patients and families.

CARF Accreditation

CHLA was the facility in Southern California to earn accreditation from the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) for pediatric inpatient medical rehabilitation. CARF focuses on commitment to quality improvement and how well the unique needs if each patient are addressed. CARF accreditation is considered the gold standard in rehabilitative care.

Employer Recognition Award, Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing Certification Board

This award is given annually to an organization that demonstrates exemplary support of the certification process in wound ostomy care nursing.

Daisy Award Program

CHLA partners with the not-for-profit DAISY Foundation to provide monthly DAISY Awards to exceptional nurses for their compassionate care at the bedside of sick and injured children. More than 2,700 health care facilities in all 50 states and 17 other countries are committed to honoring nurses with the DAISY Award.

Nursing Publications

Nursing Annual Report

Image of U.S. News and World Report badge for "Best Children's Hospitals Honor Roll 2023-2024".
Logo for American Nurses Credentialing Center Magnet Recognition
Logo for AACN Beacon Award for Excellence
Logo for Healthcare Equality Index LGBTQ Healthcare Equality Leader
Logo for CARF Accredited "Aspire to Excellence".
Logo for WOCNCB "The Gold Standard for Certification".